Old Orchard Beach

Distances

  • Biked: 35 miles
  • Walked: 5.1 miles

Woke up a little later this morning, Uncle Doug and Aunt Linda were already up. Aunt Linda made me some scrambled eggs and oatmeal for breakfast. She made herself and Uncle Doug some french toast and bacon. It was tasty and a great way to start the day.

I spent some time relaxing looking out over the pond from the cabin. Then I packed up my gear and got ready for my day’s  ride. Aunt Linda and Uncle Doug were working to open the cottage down the way so I rode over there to say my goodbye’s and thank them for all of their hospitality. I then set out South down 11 back towards Standish a little before noon.

I pedaled my way down to 25 and took it through central Standish. Here I made a quick pit stop. I hopped off my bike and strolled around a little. Visiting a candy shop at the corner of 25 & 35. I stopped by the Maine Street Grill getting a drink and some tortilla chips as a snack. Then I continued on to Buxton.

Welcome to Buxton

Welcome to Buxton

I wanted to pass through Buxton because it is referenced in the Shawshank Redemption, one of my favorite moves, as the place where the farm field is that Andy hides a note for Red. When I got to the welcome sign for Buxton, I hopped off my bike and grabbed a picture of myself with it. Buxton itself was really pretty empty and I didn’t see a town center like I did in Standish. Buildings were far between and I didn’t see any restaurants. Just a church, an elementary school, an antique shop, a gas station and a few service stations for farm equipment. I had intended to stop for a lite lunch in Buxton, but  instead pedalled on for Old Orchard Beach. Along the entire way it was mostly cloudy and spatterings of rain drops hit a couple times but no actual rain.

Old Orchard Beach Inn

Old Orchard Beach Inn

I arrived in Old Orchard about 3:30pm and checked into the Old Orchard Beach Inn, the oldest B&B in the state of Maine. It is set in a farm house built in 1730. In the early 1800’s it was repurposed as an inn and expanded. The portion of the building I’m staying in is part of this “new” addition. It is super beautiful with wood floors throughout and really cool colonial furnishings and decor. There is also nice classical/jazz music playing in  the lobby which really compliments the ambiance. Not many people staying Memorial Day night since most people are working the following day so they upgraded me to a double bed room. It is really nice and has a really nice scent of vanilla. Candle sconces on the wall provide lite, and even though they have electric bulbs, it still provides a dark candlelit feel. They were also very nice and let me stash my bike in a shed they have to keep it safe for the night.

After a quick change and wash up, I went for stroll through Orchard Beach. A fairly typical beach town with lots of beach shops, fast food style restaurants (but no chains) and lots of motels. I grabbed a late afternoon snack of a coffee and a blueberry bagel at a  cafe near my hotel. The bagel was good, if old since it  was the end  of the day. I made a phone call to my Mother to catch her up on my travels while I strolled and enjoyed the fresh sea breeze and cool weather. After lots of ambling I decided to eat at JJ’s Too, a bar and grill near the shore. I got a Grilled Romaine salad which was amazing. Basically just romaine lettuce, carrots, red onions, and summer squash, but all of it was tossed on the grill and got incredible roasted flavor. On top were two delicious crab cakes. A very satisfying dinner. Afterwards I decided to stop in one of the ice cream parlors and got a two scoop sundae with 1 scoop Cookie Dough and 1 scoop Chocolate Peanut Butter Yogurt with lots of hot fudge and whipped cream. Also very delicious.

I strolled back to my room and rested for the evening.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment